Lakeland Trails race

17.9km in 2hrs 32mins and 53 seconds sound a little bit like a walk in the park. But if I add that it involved 1088m of ascent then maybe you get a more realistic picture. And if I also add that it was around 26 degC and unbroken sunshine (and if you know how bad I am with any kind of hot weather) then you will hopefully undertand how tough the Stavely round of the Lakeland Trails series was.

To be honest, I did take it very easy. I decided when I felt the heat that I would not push it, I get pretty bad headaches when I over do it in the heat and I wanted to enjoy both the race and the whole weekend so I took it gently, and am pleased to say it was very enjoyable.

Stavely, 2012

 

Bit of a contrast with conditions at Hawkshead in 2010:

Hawkshead, 2010

Categories: mountains, outdoors, trail running | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

