Skiing, France… at 12 weeks pregnant.

This year’s ski holiday was in Val Thorens in the Three Valleys in France. It was booked long before I got pregnant or we even knew it was likely, and to be honest the highest ski resort in Europe at 2300m (7546 ft) was probably not the best choice for a pregnant woman but with snow like this who can complain?

View from our chalet balcony

View from our chalet balcony

The snow was fantastic, and the weather was so kind to us all week – with bright sunshine every day except the final morning. And with more than 600 km (370 mi) of piste in the ski area we barely scratched the surface.

IMG_1055

Perfect snow, perfect sun.

Skiing at 12weeks pregnant was fine once I’d persuaded my husband to swap salopettes – on the first day in my own salopettes I discovered I couldn’t bend at the waist at all, luckily he’s lost a bit of weight lately and could fit into mine when I commandeered his!

I had to finish up earlier than the rest of the group each day and have a nap before dinner but I still skied from 9:30am to about 3pm (sometimes 4). I took it slowly and carefully but not so slowly I couldn’t keep up with the group. Thankfully I have a very relaxed ski style (some instructors have called it a ‘lazy’ style) and I generally ski with little effort and no aggression anyway. I skipped the moguls which I usually enjoy but still had a great week.

IMG_1059

The rest of the group weren’t complaining about the extra chocolat chaud breaks!

 It’ll be a while now till we next get to the slopes, or the Alps anyway. The 2014 season is unlikely as our new addition will only be 3-5 months old. The couple of years after that we may have to make do with short trips to the Scottish slopes where we can share childcare and ski passes. But we’ve got our eye firmly set on Austria for our first family ski trip when the little one is old enough to have their first try on skis… and I fully expect him or her to be leaving both his or her parents behind in no time at all.

Categories: mountains, outdoors, pregnancy, skiing | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Skiing, France… at 12 weeks pregnant.

  1. Good on ya! Just linked to this on my list of Resources under Being Active While Pregnant: http://adventurousparents.com/resources/

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

