Tweedlove.. with a bump

This past week has been the annual Tweedlove bike festival in the Tweed Valley. Last year during Tweedlove I took part in the Glentress 7 (a seven hour race for solos, pairs or threes), and Natural Tweed (a 50km natural ride out), the year before I did Natural Tweed and this year my husband was signed up for the King and Queen of the Hill Enduro.

So what is a girl with a nearly-six-months-pregnant bump to do during a biking festival?

There was a big risk of me feeling a bit left out and resentful from being unable to ride, so since we were down for the Enduro anyway I thought I’d sign up to marshall. Luckily the weather was kind and it was a decent day for sitting out for six hours helping competitors ‘dip’ at the start of timed stage 3 then taking down the tape on that stage after the last rider.

My spot for the day

My spot for the day

Timed stage 3 start

Timed stage 3 start

We picked up our new campervan on the Friday before the Enduro weekend so we stayed down overnight on the Saturday between practice day and race day. It was a glorious day on the Saturday and a pleasant evening so I’m really glad we did. By Sunday night though after two days on my feet and a bit of steep hiking to clear tape off the course, I would say I was about as physically tired as my husband who had raced the course! Still it was a nice tired; sun and wind blasted and although achey not suffering any particular pregnancy pains.

Thursday night was Hervélo pub night so I went along after my pregnancy yoga class to catch up with some riding friends, then this Friday afternoon I got tired of reading tweets and hearing about other people’s riding fun so I took myself on my bike up to the Pentland hills in glorious weather. It was about 27km of gentle riding which felt pretty good even if it wasn’t particularly exciting.  I had aimed to make it back down to Glentress watch the Dual Slalom on Friday night but work conspired against us until it was too late. I’m really sorry I missed one of the Hervélos getting a podium place! Lots of Hervélo  riders also podium-ed at the GT7 which is brilliant! I wouldn’t have had any chance of a podium if I’d entered but oh, I wish I could have ridden anyway…. next summer…… 🙂

Categories: mountain biking, outdoors, pregnancy, Scotland, Tweed Valley | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

